Castle Hotel Wedding Testimonials

  • Where do we start! The castle hotel from day one looked after us so well we popped in for an evening meal one day in january 2012 parked the car on the main street I walked into the hotel through the main door the greeting I got from the lady on reception that evening was something special, there was a greeting that we never would have expected from a hotel on a main steet.She spoke with us like we were coming into the hotel every night like she had known us for years.we went into the restaurant for dinner and again the waiting staff we could not fault and very child friendly the food was fantastic.we liked what we had seen in the first couple of hours we ended up staying the night and again we were made feel so welcome without even booking in advance.on our second visit which was our first time attending a wedding fair at the hotel we got to meet up with vicki wray and a lot of the local suppliers which came in so handy. That day we booked the hotel and it was the best decision we ever made and that was all down to vicki and her staff, vicki worked along side us she was on hand every time we had a question big or small vicki had an answer for you within the hour.Fast forward to 2014 where we are now only a few months before wedding day this is where we thought we would start to stress being a couple traveling to macroom to get married but as always the hotel and vicki would sort it out. Closer to the day rooms started to be booked again with the professional staff at reception this was all taking care of even the many times we had rang to change people around it was done without complaint.wedding weekend we could not wait for our guests to check so they would get to see what we were raving about the whole time and we were not let down before we had checked in I was getting calls from guests about the welcome they were getting and about the personal touches that the hotel had put together for our day everything that we wanted our guest to experience they did.on the day of the wedding well where do we start everything was taking care of by vicki and her team from early morning to very early again on the sunday morning everything was made so special from ckecking in the guests on the saturday to the organising of the different members of the bridal party leaving the hotel.coming back to the hotel after the cermony and to find that all our guests had settled in they were made feel at home and to here everybody talking about the hotel and again some more little extras in each guest room a little welcome letter a lottery ticket and two vitamin tablets for the hangovers the following morning this is the attention to detail the you will get from this hotel.So I will finish this review by saying a huge thank you to the castle hotel for having us and for letting us celebrate our special day in there hotel a special thank you to vicki wray without her I think we would have struggled to pull off our day she is a huge asset to the castle hotel and we will miss going to the wedding fairs that were so well organised by her. Claire & David Sheehan, June 2014
  • One word comes to mind when thinking of The Castle Hotel WOW!!! From the moment we walked in the door we were shown nothing but professionalism and most importantly they were interested in everything we had to say. I fell in love with The Castle Hotel and with Vicki the wedding coordinator and they made our wedding day the most AMAZING day ever!! My husband fell in love with the food. He's a big foodie and that to him was soo important. No request was too big or too small. They so kindly set up Skype on a big screen in the function room so we could see and speak to my brother who was overseas at the time. The decor is simply stunning we actually had our wedding pics taken in the hotel. There is simply nothing I would change about our wedding as Vicki and crew catered to everything we could of possibly wanted and most of the time knew what I wanted before I did. I cannot recommend this STUNNING hotel enough. It's a hidden gem in the centre of Macroom and one surely not to be looked over!!! My guests still talk about the service and hospitality they were shown in The Castle and couldn't believe they had missed it before. Out of ten I'd give it a 450. Danielle July 2014
  • It's very hard to describe the castle hotel and it's staff without visiting the place for urself and see how perfectly well it is run and how friendly and welcoming the staff are. We decided to stay at the hotel after Laura had stayed a night with her family and came back with great reviews about the place and what a great choice we made, once announcing our intention of using hotel as our reception and getting the tour we cudnt wait to start organising the big day with vicki the wedding coordinator, it was such a pleasure dealing with her always there if we had any queries or silly questions nothing was a burden the planning was straight forward with vickies knowledge made our day more enjoyable knowing everything was ready for action wen we arrived, the day itself went so smoothly check in was done it record time the choice of canapies and drinks on arrival wer amazing and never ran short the staff wer all in great form mingling with guests getting to know them so friendly, dinner wel what can I say I'm keeping that a secret because it is something you have to sample yourself its a hidden jem like the hotel itself. Surrounding areas for photos are great aswel. It's like vicki is part of your wedding with her great help and ideas and very willing to change anything around to suit you, il always remember her quote to us "the hotel is yours for the day and night" which was great to hear and no idea we wanted was refused. The castle hotel is a family run business and the staff are all so happy in there work which is great to see, all our guests wer delighted with the hotel and some have returned since and no doubt more wil aswel. Don't book anywhere without paying this place a visit you will be pleasantly surprised To vicki and the staff on the castle hotel " keep up the good work" me and Laura's day couldn't of been any better or enjoyable thanks to your great help and will always be remembered. Wayne Conroy & Laura O Keeffe July 2014 

 

  • We had an amazing wedding in The Castle Hotel just a couple of weeks ago. All the staff went to great lengths to make our day so memorable. The friendliness all the staff showed our guests is still been talked about today they made everyone feel so welcome and the little gifts in the bedrooms were such a lovely touch. We were planning our wedding from a distance which you would imagine to be challenging but Vicki our wedding co ordinator was so quick to respond to all my questions even within minutes of e mailing her. She went above and beyond her call of duty to have everything absolutely perfect on our wedding day. We had spent quite a few weekends prior to our wedding in the hotel as we were coming from Co Louth and any of our family that joined us couldn't get over the politeness and efficiency all the staff showed us we were honestly treated like celebrities even Molly our dog. The attention to detail on the day was exceptional from the reception room to the table décor. The meal was beautiful and the efficiency of the stall was outstanding. It will have a lasting memory with us and all our guests and we really consider all the stall really god friends of ours. We were presented with a beautiful painting of the church we were married in as a wedding present from the hotel which was so lovely. We would highly recommend this hotel to anybody and would like to sincerely thank all the staff who looked after us over the course of the weekend especially Billy, Gerard and Tony. My heartfelt and warmest thanks in particular to Vicki Wray who seemed to be around whenever we needed her and looked after our every need. Irene & Paul November 2013
  • “Excellent !” Stayed here recently for 2 nights while attending a wedding. The room was spotless and had some lovely touches for the wedding like vit c tablets for the morning after and a welcome note. The food was amazing and the staff were very efficient and polite. One person at out table didn't eat butter and they had no trouble in accommodating him! I spoke with the wedding coordinator a few times Vicky. She was very helpful and there no query she was unable to answer. Over all I would recommend this hotel over and over again for any wedding or just a quite few days away!  December 2013
     
    “Best day of our lives in the Castle Hotel” We got married in the Castle Hotel on the 14th of September 2013. Choosing this hotel was the easiest decision we made. From the moment we contacted Vicki Wray, with our enquiry, we were treated as if ours was the only wedding that mattered to the hotel. We had guests travelling from abroad for the wedding and they were stunned at how helpful and welcoming the hotel were. We had a party the night before the wedding to say hello to everyone and it went so smoothly. They even managed to arrange some live music in the bar for us to get everyone in the mood. On the day itself nothing was too much trouble, even to the extent of me waking up the staff early in the morning because I had lost a piece of paper and needed them to find it, scan it and email it to me!  The guests were spoiled with little treats left in their rooms. Even though we over ran our schedule by 2 hours it didn't matter at all, every one was relaxed and happy. The quality of food and service was higher than most hotels I have been in. There was always people available to answer any of our questions. Planning a wedding from abroad it tough going but with the help of Vicki, the hotel wedding coordinator, it was made to be very easy and very straight forward. She was always at the end of a phone or email and very prompt and informative in her responses, even when it was things that were well outside the remit of her role!! We stayed an extra night in the hotel after the wedding and were lucky enough to be able to stay in the lovely bridal suite. The hotel presented us with a stunning painting as a gift, of the church we were married in, which was just lovely! I honestly can not recommend this hotel and its staff enough to anyone planning a holiday or a wedding in that area. October 2013
  • “Best Hotel We've Ever Stayed In” My wife and I were married in Macroom on 1st June 2013 and we chose the Castle Hotel to host the reception and evening party. The hotel had been recommended to us as one of the best places in Ireland to have a small wedding and their reputation is well earned. This is quite simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in. There were 25 of us in total, staying for 3-4 nights each, and every one of our guests commented on the fantastic staff and wonderful service that was provided from start to finish. Our only concern is that they will insist on returning with us for our 1st year anniversary!!! Cannot recommend highly enough. 11 June 2013.
  • “Dreams of a perfect wedding day and weekend come true” I would like to say that our stay at the Castle Hotel last weekend was among the best experiences of my life. I got married in Gougane Barra, and we decided to have our reception at the Castle Hotel in Macroom. From the first moment I met with the wedding coordinator in January 2012, right up until we checked out on Monday, we could not have had more support and kindness. The staff made us feel like family and were helpful and always friendly. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. The food was some of the best I have ever had, with no shortage of portions!
    Obviously planning a wedding implies a slightly different experience than just staying for a night or two. However, I think that whether you are planning your wedding here, or just taking a short break, you could not choose a better location. We had family coming from Canada and the UK and everyone was delighted with the service, food and accommodation. We planned a wedding and dealt with the Castle Hotel consistently over the past seven months, with every visit being a pleasurable experience. I must give a special thank you to Vicki Wray, our wedding coordinator, without whose help I would have gone crazy, and the whole serving staff who made every guest feel very well looked after!
    There is not one negative thing I could say about the entire stay at the Castle Hotel, and I cannot wait to go back and visit on our one year anniversary.
    Thank you with all our heart. Erika and Danny.
  • “Simply Excellent” I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding party, where the wedding ceremony and reception were also held. On all accounts, I was highly impressed by all aspects. Prior to reviewing the hotel area by area, I must compliment the function manager in the hotel who was incredibly helpful prior to the wedding in assisting me with some required preparation.
    Check-in:
    Very efficient and friendly with a rundown of the hotel. Immediately offered help regarding wedding ceremony details, and to charge one of my camera batteries, which I stupidly had discharged.
    Rooms:
    Modern, very clean, well appointed and bright. Bathrooms were absolutely spotless, with a shower with power (very important)
    Restaurant:
    The wedding dinner itself was superb from starter, palette cleanser, main through to dessert. The chef and function manager bent over backwards to help with some specific dietary requirements. The service was second to none. Breakfast was also top notch, with a broad choice of everything you could want including muesli options.... yes muesli options (pumpkin seeds, hazelnuts and so on an so forth). The breakfast room and function room were decorated to a very high standard and again the service was great.
    Bar:
    Comfortable, excellent staff, great Guinness, good quality wines and a really good atmosphere.... though that could be down to the wedding party too, but from what I had seen earlier, it seems to be the case all the time.
    Leisure Centre:
    The pool was very well equipped with a bubble pool and massage jets and a shallow toddler pool. Very clean and a pleasant place to be
    Service:
    It has been a long time since I have been able to say about any establishment that the service was close to perfect. This hotel should be studied as a best of breed for service. Bar, food, reception, management and back of house (kitchen and chamber staff) (which I seldom get a chance to interact with unless I am complaining) should be highly commended. Even in the face of some real belligerence from some guests on check out, they maintained total professionalism, which I must admit I would struggle to do so in this particular case.
    Summary: You don't even need the excuse to go here... I'd go here if it was located in the bowels of Offaly. let alone the gateway to West Cork. Keep it up....  Reviewed 29 July 2012 on Trip Advisor
  • I had my wedding reception in this amazing hotel a few weeks ago, I have never met staff with such genuine kindness and attention to detail. They are so so kind and determined to make our special day even more special. The receptionists knew our names and welcomed our families even all the noisey children! The wedding party was able to have hair and make up done in the hotel and no way was the groom going to meet up with us. They even sent tea/coffee and chocolate bars to the room whilst we were getting our make over. We we came back from the church they were so welcoming. I really cant say enough about this hotel or staff, lovely hotel, fab food and the most genuine staff I have ever met. You are amazing and we will be back really soon for a visit. I would really recommend this hotel for a wedding reception. May 2012 Bride & Groom
  • From the moment we came to The Castle Hotel to discuss the booking for our wedding reception, our experience has been one that we will always remember for all the right reasons. Nothing was ever too much trouble and the professionlism, hospitality, friendliness and genuine kindness was evident in all our dealings with every member of staff.  We want to specifically express our gratitude to Vicki and Aisling, whose help and support made organising our reception an exciting rather than stressful process.  We also wish to thank Kay, for her friendliness and kindness. From the time we arrived, we have been treated like VIP's. There is no where else we would have celebrated our big day! - May 2012 Bride & Groom
  • The Castle Hotel is our No. 1 destination hotel! Thank you all so very very much. We wish you continued success with the fantastic jewel in Macroom! We will be telling everyone of the splendor of staing at The Castle Hotel. Full marks to all the staff, it was they who made our experience so utterly superb. - The McRedmonds.
  • We sincerely want to thank you Vicki and all the staff at The Castle Hotel, for all your hospitality, and service to us, and both our families before, during and after our wedding. We want to thank you for your attention to detail, care, responsiveness, and star service shown to us from the moment we booked our wedding at The Castle Hotel. All the staff provided a high level of service over the celebrations to us and our guests, and we wish to thank them all for that. A special word of thanks to Derek, he made us all feel so welcome and comfortable in our surroundings. We thank you for the day running so smoothly. The food, service and delivery were impeccable and all our guests had nothing but positive feedback to give on everything. We are already looking forward to coming to visit ye again, and no doubt all of the guests that attended our Wedding will also be back for a visit. We could not have asked for anything more from you. Warmest Regards. Jean & Willie x
  • To Ronan, from the time you replied to our very first email query, until the end of our stay after our wedding day, you were kind, considerate, helpful and a gem to work with.  To all the staff members who worked the weekend of our wedding, thank you for your professionalism,  patience and truely wonderful service. Our wedding reception was amazing thanks to all your hard work.  We look forward to staying with you again to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary!  Sharon & Jason.
  • We had a fab time at the castle hotel recently. The staff were superb, rooms were lovely and comfortable and the food was spot on. We had such a great time that we decided to hold our wedding reception there. It was a good choice as it helped to make our day more special. Our families have planned to return as it was so good. You can't go wrong staying here."
  • Thank you so much to Ronan, Pat, Gretta and all the staff at The Castle Hotel for making our wedding day so special, Ronan who went out of his way to get my dad to the church, Pat for the wonderful food that everybody is still talking about, Gretta for the most beautiful wedding cake I Have ever seen and all the staff who were so friendly and always on hand to help with anything, on behalf of myself and Les, we are so grateful for the attention to detail everything was perfect, we can't wait to come back next year for our anniversary xxx - Susan Daly Walsh
  • It was our honour to start our marriage in a fantastic hotel, the staff , meals , atmosphere and surroundings were spectacular. We're already looking forward to several anniversaries celebrated here in The Castle. Entirely satisfied ! And thanks for the beautiful and thoughtful gift. -  Niall and Fiona
  • We stayed in the Castle Hotel on the night of our wedding! We held our wedding reception here on the 23rd July 2011. We can not say enough good things about the way we, and our guests were treated! It really is a fantastic hotel.
  • All the staff were excellent and very easy to chat to and made us feel at ease and comfortable. Even my mother who is confined to a wheelchair was well catered for and looked after. The food was amazing, and I was just so sad I couldn't finish it all. It was the little details in our guests rooms that touched us, many whom had travelled half way round the world to be with us on our special day.
  • We really felt at home there and it was a fantastic way to start our married life!
  • A huge hank you to Ronan Fahy and his team for a wonderful wedding day and we look forward to popping in sometime soon. - Trip Advisor comment
  • It's not possible to express how grateful we are for the amazing wedding experience we had at your hotel.  The kind, thoughtful & meticulous service we were treated to is like nothing I have ever come across before.  Our stay & the reception dinner ran so smoothly.  The food & the rooms were all top notch.  But above all, the excitement, sincerety & the good-natured manner of everyone in the hotel was the icing on the cake of the happiest day of our lives.  Thank you all so much!  - Lucy & Mark O Mahoney.
  • We want to thank you all for being so kind and welcoming and making our wedding day very special on May 15th.  We found the hotel wonderful, luxurious and comfortable. All of the staff went out of their way to make us feel special and to make our day run smoothly.  We will certainly recommend you! - With thanks, Cathal & Niamh Garvey
  • After Ryan and I finally made it back to the states word started spreading among friends and family that we were married and photo's and news articles were shared.  Well, the Chicago NBC affiliate received word of the story and did a piece on us last week.  Also, Ryan and I appreciate the ALL the help you provided me in the past 3 months.  I said it before and I'll say it again, I couldn't have done it without you! - Regards, Kevin & Ryan (Dunleavy) Ebbesen, Bride & Groom where Groom surprised Bride with proposal followed one hour later by wedding!
  • Thanks a million for everything. We really enjoyed our day being treated like royalty. Thanks again  - Clive & Carol  Bride & Groom.
  • It has been the most memorable experience and it's down to JP and the excellent Staff at the Hotel. Everything on our "Big Day" was perfect. The meal was fantastic, (taste & presentation). The accomondation was brilliant and so comfortable. We will be calling again & again  - Marguerite & John 
  • The third day was a much quieter affair. We all relaxed in front of the fire & took things very easy. All in all, a lovely wedding & and great weekend. I cannot wait to go back. One thing worth noting, all wedding guests staying were offered a discounted weekend or 3 night stay, not the usual inflated prices some hotels charges, and the bride & groom were under no pressure to sell a certain number of rooms to guests. John-Paul and his staff are truly exceptional.
  • Many thanks to you and your staff for making us so welcome and providing excellent accommodation, food and all round enjoyable stay on the occasion of our niece's wedding. You and your staff could not have done more, it was as good as staying with family. Fantastic food, great portion sizes, more than enough even for large appetites. Friendly , helpful reception staff, and a manager who joins in the fun, what more could anyone ask for. Our thanks again - Rosemary Nippress.
  • Thank you so much for organising such a fantastic wedding. Everything was fabulous, the food, the staff, the decor.  Everyone commented on how lovely the hotel was and how obliging you were.  Many thanks again. - Jacinta & Niall
  • Thank you so much for helping to make our daughter Joanne's wedding day a huge success.  You were so helpful throughout the entire day and each guest was made to feel welcome and comfortable.  We express our sincere gratitude to you and the hotel. - Joe & Collette.
  • Thank you most sincerely for all your help and hard work for Patricia and Derek's wedding.  The hotel and staff are a credit to you.  - Irene - Wedding Planner.